Weekly Endorsement


Hiring Gen Y Makes Dollars and Sense” from Under 30 CEO

Love this post at Under30CEO.com for two reasons: it shows the benefits of hiring Gen Y and I am Gen Y trying to get a job now that I’m graduating.  Right now is a great time for employers to hire Gen Y  too.  Recession=not as much money as before, and not as much money as before=can’t afford experienced talent, and can’t afford experienced talent=get a great bargain hire Gen Y/College graduates.

One thing I would add to the list of benefits of hiring Gen Y is that we are idealistic in many respects.  This idealism can be a great tool for employers to motivate and harness Gen Y’s potential to produce great results.  If you make us care about what we do at work, we will deliver for you (the employer) like no one else.

Let’s Chat!

What are your thoughts about hiring Gen Y or recent college graduates in general?  What does Gen Y need to work on and what do they do well?  Do you see any trends in Gen Y employment?

2 Comments

Filed under Career, Endorsements

2 responses to “Weekly Endorsement

  1. Baker

    Ok, I’ll bite. The quotes “when managed correctly” and “If you make us care about what we do at work, we will deliver for you (the employer) like no one else.” don’t sit well with me. In this time of economic downturn, an employee should be eager to please, not the other way around. I’m LUCKY to have a job, and I’ve shown that to my boss everyday by outworking my coworkers to the point that I’m the only employee she needs. I’ve been offered jobs around me since my bosses give me glowing reviews to the point that they would fire their Gen Y employee to hire me even though I know nothing about their business.
    The Gen Y’s that I see at work are lazy in general, tend to get in spats with others, take way to many breaks and don’t appreciate the value of a dollar (or their bosses dollar). I’m not saying everyone is like that, but having worked 3 different jobs with many different coworkers, I can attest that being the only one in my office is such an amazing thing.
    I will note that I come from a much different view point then most of our generation. I believe it’s every man for themselves and only the strongest survive. Eat or be eaten.

  2. plommec

    Baker, I agree with a lot of what your saying here. If Gen Y employees are lazy and don’t care, damn straight they should be fired. Maybe they will see that no one can coast through a job, especially in this recession. Employers don’t have the budget to keep unproductive workers. And if you are such a great worker that your employer only needs you, well then that’s great and the American economy would be a lot stronger if everyone else worked that hard.

    Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

